Events & Exhibitions

Brushing Teeth: Yes of Course! – From Pulling Teeth to Dental Hygiene

Bild Ausstellung Zähne putzen

 

The history of dentistry is often misunderstood. It consists of much more than pulling teeth and gold fillings. In Zurich in particular, pioneering work in prevention was done with the caries research station at the Center of Dental Medicine, which had far-reaching consequences for public health.

 

In its exhibition, the UB Medicine Careum shows historical books from the collection of the Center of Dental Medicine, supplemented with objects from the Medical Collection.

Duration: 21 February 2022 until 31 January 2023

Location: UB Medicine Careum, Entrance area

 


 

Traveling

 

Exhibition on the theme "Traveling"

The summer vacations are unfortunately (soon) over here at the University of Zurich, but you can always dream of new travel plans. Let yourself be inspired by our travel literature from the UB German Studies & Nordic Language and Literature. Our travelogues from different centuries give us an exciting insight into how people used to travel and what shaped them on their wanderings. Ida Pfeiffer, a prominent travel writer, for example, describes her adventurous journeys over sea and through various jungle landscapes in South America - an arduous undertaking for a woman in the 19th century. Or read about fictional journeys in German and Nordic literature. Discover (dream) worlds, for example with "Fern bleiben" by Ulrike Ulrich or "Fliehkräfte" by Stephan Thome. Many literary studies also explore the question of the extent to which travel shapes and has shaped us in written form or in real form.

 

Ort: UB German Studies & Nordic Language and Literature
Exhibition poster (PDF, 446 KB)

 


 

The Library of Adolf Schulz

Bild Ausstellung

The exhibition in the University Library for Natural Sciences presents a small insight into documents from the library of Adolph Schultz, professor of anthropology and former director of the Anthropological Institute of the University of Zurich.

Location: UB Sciences, Floor J

Events & Ausstellungen

Zähne putzen: Ja natürlich! – Vom Zähne ziehen zur Dentalhygiene

Bild Ausstellung Zähne putzen


Die Geschichte der Zahnmedizin wird oft verkannt. Sie besteht aus weit mehr als Zähne ziehen und Goldfüllungen. Gerade in Zürich wurde mit der Kariesforschungsstation am Zentrum für Zahnmedizin Pionierarbeit in der Prävention geleistet, die weitreichende Folgen für die öffentliche Gesundheit hatte.

Die UB Medizin Careum zeigt in ihrer Ausstellung historische Bücher aus der Sammlung des Zentrums für Zahnmedizin, ergänzt mit Objekten aus der Medizinischen Sammlung. Ausserdem erzählen in einem Video die Zeitzeugen Ulrich Saxer und Sandra Augustin-Wolf von der Gründung der Schule für Dentalhygiene in Zürich: 

 


Dauer: 21. Februar 2022 bis 31. Januar 2023

Ort: UB Medizin Careum, Eingangsbereich
 


Auf Reisen

 

Ausstellung zum Thema «Auf Reisen»

Die Sommerferien sind hier an der Universität Zürich leider schon (bald) vorbei, doch von neuen Reiseplänen kann man immer träumen. Lass dich dabei von unserer Reiseliteratur aus der Bibliothek Germanistik und Skandinavistik inspirieren. Unsere Reiseberichte aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten geben uns einen spannenden Einblick, wie die Menschen früher gereist sind und was sie auf ihrer Wanderung geprägt hat. Ida Pfeiffer, eine prominente Reiseschriftstellerin, beschreibt zum Beispiel ihre abenteuerlichen Reisen über Meer und durch verschiedene Dschungellandschaften in Südamerika – für eine Frau im 19. Jahrhundert ein mühseliges Unterfangen. Oder lies von fiktiven Reisen in der deutschen sowie nordischen Literatur. Entdecke (Traum-)Welten, zum Beispiel mit «Fern bleiben» von Ulrike Ulrich oder «Fliehkräfte» von Stephan Thome. Viele literaturwissenschaftliche Abhandlungen gehen zudem der Frage nach, inwieweit das Reisen uns in schriftlicher Form oder auch in realer Form prägt und geprägt hat.

 

Ort: UB Germanistik & Skandinavistik
Ausstellungsplakat (PDF, 446 KB)

 


 

Aus der Bibliothek von Adolph Schultz

Bild Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung in der Universitätsbibliothek, Naturwissenschaften zeigt einen kleinen Einblick in Dokumente aus der Bibliothek von Adolph Schultz, Professor der Anthropologie und ehemaliger Leiter des Anthropologischen Instituts der Universität Zürich.
 

Ort: UB Naturwissenschaften, Geschoss J