Our Organization

Bild Uni Zürich und Stadt

With 40 locations, the UB stretches across the whole of the city of Zurich. We combine major locations such as the UB of Law or the UB Medicine Careum and over 30 minor locations into the UB. Decentralization is thus our hallmark.

Information Infrastructure and Resources for 50 Disciplines

A central field of work of the UB is the support of UZH researchers in the area of open science. In addition, UZH members will find a rich e-library.

The physical part of our collections is located over our 41 locations, which are assigned to six major thematic areas.

  1. History, Culture and Theology
  2. Law
  3. Philology and Economics
  4. Medicine
  5. Natural Sciences
  6. Social Sciences

The Directorate, the IT-Services, the E-Services, the central staff functions, such as the Innovation and Communications Department, which also organizes the staff training, form the central services of the UB.

Open Science Services (OSS)

Our Open Science Services are manned by UB and ZB staff. The team provides the infrastructure in the area of open access, maintains the publication platforms ZORA und HOPE, and supports researchers in all matters relating to open science: The staff provides advice, gives courses, and develops services in the area of data management and open access publications. They are also participating in projects such as the research data service SWISSUbase.

Liaison Librarians (LL)

Our approximately 70 Liaison Librarians come from both the UB and the ZB. They work closely with academic institutes in their area of expertise and further develop the collections. At the same time, they are contacts for students and researchers, teach information literacy skills, and are available for consultations. In this way, they form the interface between the library and the academia.

Interlinked Workspace

We promote collaboration among our employees across all divisions through various bodies and working groups. In addition to the close cooperation with the ZB regarding liaison services and research support, we also strive to maintain a lively exchange with ZB staff.

Unsere Organisation

Bild Uni Zürich und Stadt

Die UB erstreckt sich mit 41 Standorten über ganz Zürich. Wir vereinen grosse Standorte wie die UB Rechtswissenschaften oder die UB Medizin Careum zusammen mit über 30 kleinen und mittleren Standorten. Die Dezentralität ist somit unser Markenzeichen.

Informationsinfrastruktur und -ressourcen für 50 Disziplinen

Ein zentrales Arbeitsfeld der UB ist die Unterstützung der UZH-Forschenden im Bereich Open Science. Zudem finden die UZH-Angehörige eine reichbestückte E-Library.

Die physischen Medien stehen in unseren Standorten, die 6 thematischen Bereichen zugeordnet.

  1. Geschichte, Kultur und Theologie
  2. Recht
  3. Sprachen und Wirtschaft
  4. Medizin
  5. Naturwissenschaften
  6. Sozialwissenschaften

Die Direktion, die drei digitalen Dienste, der Stab und eine Stabsabteilung für Innovation und Kommunikation, die auch die Weiterbildung organisiert, bilden die zentralen Dienste der UB.

Open Science Services (OSS)

Unsere Open Science Services setzen sich aus Mitarbeitenden der UB und ZB zusammen. Das Team stellt Infrastrukturen im Bereich Open Access bereit, unterhält die Publikationsplattformen ZORA und HOPE und unterstützt Forschende in allen Belangen rund um Open Science: Die Mitarbeitenden beraten, geben Kurse und entwickeln Dienstleistungen im Bereich Daten-Management und Open-Access-Publikationen. Daneben wirken sie an Projekten wie etwa SwissUbase mit.

Liaison Librarians

Unsere rund 70 Liaison Librarians kommen sowohl aus der UB wie auch aus der ZB. Sie arbeiten eng mit den wissenschaftlichen Instituten ihres Bereichs zusammen und entwickeln den Bestand. Gleichzeitig sind sie Ansprechpersonen für Studierende und Forschende, und vermitteln in Kursen und Beratungen Informationskompetenz. Insofern bilden sie die Schnittstelle zwischen Bibliothek und Forschung.

Vernetztes Arbeiten

Über verschiedene Gefässe und Arbeitsgruppen fördern wir die Zusammenarbeit unserer Mitarbeitenden über die Bereiche hinweg. Über die enge Zusammenarbeit mit der ZB bei den Liaison Services und Forschungsunterstützung hinaus streben wir auch einen regen Austausch mit den Mitarbeitenden der ZB an.